Read it, Write it Wednesday

Greetings Readers!

*Can you believe it’s Wednesday already?! It feels like it was Sunday just a second ago and then I just blinked and now it’s Wednesday.  I can only hope that the rest of the week goes by this fast.  But today is the day that I tell about one of the books that I’ve read recently, hence: Read it, Write it Wednesday.

*So, the book series that I read, or reread and listened, over the holidays is called the Innkeeper Chronicles.  The first book is Clean Sweep, and its by Ilona Andrews. Don’t be too quick to judge by the title or series name, while it is about an innkeeper named Dina Demille and she does run an Inn called Gertrude Hunt….but this isn’t just any Inn, because it caters to a specific type of guests, the intergalactic type.  That isn’t the only twist in the story, there are werewolves and vampires!!

*I am pretty happy about this series because Andrews has a completely different take on the origins of the werewolves and vampires.  Andrews has the origins from outer space!! SAY WHAAAAAAT!?!?!?!?! This is probably one of the best v &w stories out there that I can think of.  But don’t get disappointed of the lack of magic in the story, because there is plenty of magic going on in this story. There is also futuristic tech and other alien beings. There is danger, flirting and loss of life. The story is in first person, Dina Demille, and I think that if it was in third person omniscient, it would have lost a lot of the mystery.  And the story starts off with the death of a dog–sad I know–and from there we meet our first werewolf.  The story builds off from there and I loved it!! The narrator for the audiobook also did a good job of making the story come to life. Though, I kinda wished she would have put more of a difference in the voices of the men.  But that comes with more reading of the books and with only three out now makes it a little hard.

*That’s about it for now, and I will tell you about a different book next week for READ IT, WRITE IT WEDNESDAY . Now I hope that my short thoughts on the books wasn’t disappointing considering the last reviews were more than 600 words.  I’m trying to cut back on the over-share and just give a few basic info. Stay safe and have a fabulous day!

Love❤

Wordie

Leave a Reply

