The Academy: First Days (Year One, Book 2 of the Ghost Bird Series) by C. L. Stone [Book and Audiobook Review]

Sang Sorenson used to be the invisible girl in class. As a new student to Ashley Waters High School, Sang hopes that her new friends will be the change she’s been craving and will make fitting in a breeze.
But Academy students aren’t there to take it easy. The high school is overcrowded and rife with violence. When fights begin, Sang will uncover the true reason the boys traded in their private school life for a public one.
This year, Sang will no longer be invisible. This year, Sang is a target.
The principal and vice principal are hot to take Sang down, and her own mother is determined to entrap Sang forever in her belief that the safest place to be is in the shadows. Despite this, Nathan, Luke, Kota, North, Silas, Victor, and Gabriel will discover Sang’s unyielding loyalty.

And they will sorely need it.

Greetings Readers!

*Here I am with yet another review for you!! I hoped you enjoyed my last one on the first book of the Ghost Bird books of The Academy series.  I finished listening to the second book last week sometime and just finished reading the third book and will try to get that review up soon.  If I had the option of writing without having to sleep, even though I do love sleep, or writing reviews: I’d write more reviews and maybe add a few short stories to mix things up.

*We met all the characters in the first book, both pro- and antagonists, and we have an idea of how the second book may be played out.  Sang met all the boys from the Academy from Kota’s group and knew that they were sent to help the school and then decide if a new school is needed or not.

Now, I thought that this setting was great! The fact that a school with that many students outside a big city is something that isn’t heard of much.  I liked how Stone made you, as a reader, feel like you were also in those crowded hallways and wanted out.  I don’t like being in a crowded room or hallway—not because I’m claustrophobic or anything, I just have this thing about personal space that if you stand in my bubble you’re likely to get a stink eye or black eye, depending on how often you touch me without my consent—and if I don’t have room to move my hands or feet, I get antsy. 

*We learn a little more about Sang’s relationship with her sister. Also, that Sang is willing to put herself in danger to protect the people she cares for without thought of her own safety.  In addition, Mrs. Sorenson seems to only punish our heroine and not the sister for even the slightest infraction.  We also learn that her family isn’t one for loving touches and that she is basically in social isolation. 

This was probably one of the saddest parts of the entire series in every book I’ve read.  To lack loving contact with family is something I can’t even imagine and makes me hug my husband and daughter closer to me each do.  This, I do have to say, makes for a great mental setting for the book.  It makes you think back to that innocence as a small child and then as you read you tell Sang that it’s ok to do this or not to do that, because you want to protect her innocence!!

*The principal and vice principal don’t want the Academy boys there and try many ways to make them leave, even forcing them to wear uniforms as a private school would wear.  This makes the boys a target even more than before.  We learn of a sick and violent tradition the bad students have and Sang hears about it before the boys and when it happens all hell breaks loose!! A plan the principal had in place in ruined and Sang is put in the center of it and it causes trouble for her with him and the VP.

I was shocked and a little horrified by this train of thought by Stone, though I guess it would make sense that it or something just as bad or worse would happen at a troubled school.  One good thing is that currently, there are only a few main troublemakers and you don’t have to remember a plethora of names.  There is adult-like talk and contact between characters, but nothing that was R rated…..more like PG13.  It still had foul language, but that was something that just goes with those types of characters. 

*Well, readers, that’s all I have for this book; I tried to keep it under 650 words, I almost succeeded!! But I hope you enjoy the book and if you thought it was just as good as I did, let me know. I am looking for any book recommendations you might have.  Let me know what you thought and have a fabulous day!!

 

Love ❤

Wordie

Leave a Reply

