Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, book 1) by Marissa Meyer [book review]

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Greetings Readers!

*Well, I’ve come bearing a book review! **Yay Me** Let me tell you that this is going to probably be a short review, as I am trying to cut back on the telling too much bit of my writing.  So, sit back and prepare for a book review like I’ve never given before!!!

*I must tell you that this book was one of my favorite renditions of the Cinderella that I’ve read.  Well, I’ve read it once and listened to it twice now. It’s set in the future and it has just about everything you’d want from a future based story line and it follows the original story well: girl lives with stepmother and two stepsisters, girl meets prince and falls in love, stepmother makes girl work for her keep in her own house, girl is not allowed to go to the ball the prince is throwing and goes anyway and loses footwear and prince finds it. However, in this story has that futuristic touch. Cinder is a cyborg….an alien one at that.  Though technically, she was born on the moon and looked no different than anyone else. 

I must say the Meyer did a really good job with the story line and the characters were written well and were the kind that you could easily hate and love and some that you flip-flop between as the story goes on.  Other than Cinder, my favorite character to love was Iko and my character to hate was of course Queen Levana. And while you would think that this would be set in England or America, this story is set in what is call New Beijing.  I liked this too, that it’s set somewhere unexpected!

*Now, when I say aliens, I don’t mean from a completely different solar system.  What I mean is that a hundred so odd years have passed and people have colonized the moon and somehow developed the ability to control someone else’s biochemistry of the brain.  (I’m guessing this is to replace the magic from the original story.)  Thus, they could control the whole body.  They are called Lunar’s and they were a fear/hated people for their ability.  Mostly because most the wealthy used it to terrorize others.  

This was something that the people of earth feared and they therefore hated the Lunar people because of the wrongful acts of, not just the wealthy but the monarchy, the only people who only had wealth and power.  However, just like any other society that was known for having the ability to do something amazing, there were people that didn’t have said ability and were no only shunned but killed at birth!!

*I loved that the author didn’t go the usual route of the fairy tale genre and make all the people with “magic” good in this first book of the series.  There is one other character in the story that is Lunar and he has a past that will reveal slowly in this book and then will unfold in the next few books.  I also loved that the woman that narrated the whole series did a fabulous job at bringing each and EVERY character to life!! Rebecca Soler gave 100% when reading this and could make ME forget that it was one person narrating and not a full cast of people. 

*I hope that you read, and listen to, this book with an adventure in mind and character’s that will stick with you even when you finish reading!! I recommend checking out Pinterest for fan art from other readers!! Let me know what you think and have fabulous day!

Love ❤

Wordie.

P.S.

Readers,

I started writing this review Monday and had to stop so I could go get my daughter from school and then didn’t get back to it till today (Wednesday November 30, 2016) because of a family emergency.  Sorry to be so late, but family comes before blog!

Leave a Reply

