Mirror is the Magic Word!!

Greetings Readers,

*So on Sunday, September 25, 2016, and while I was sitting, listening to the sermon decided to look up the word of the day. What I found, well let’s just say it was meant to be. Sunday’s word: Mirror. When I looked at the word, two things popped into my head: a fairytale quote and the first few lines in a song by the Christian musical group For King & Country. Sunday’s word got me thinking about what my actions reflect; how I perceive myself; do I use it to keep myself lifted up or bring myself down.
*Now I bet, if you listen to K-Love or your local Christian music station, you know which song I’m talking about. For those of you who don’t know the song it’s called Priceless. Here’s the lines I’m talking about:
*”Mirror, Mirror. Mirror on the wall. Telling those lies, pointing out your flaws. That isn’t who you are. That isn’t who you are.”
The song says that there is more to us than we think and that our pain and trials are not what make us weak. What makes us weak is letting it win and not doing anything about it. As someone who struggles with her weight and constantly feeling down and unworthy of the amazing family that I have and the depression often gets so bad that I have often thought things that I know I wouldn’t normally think about. However, God blessed me with an amazing family: a daughter who has no problem telling me or anyone that they are beautiful or handsome or awesome and a husband who has more patience than anyone I know and he’s willing to help me with even the smallest tasks when he sees I truly need the help. Where does the mirror come in, I bet you’re wondering. Well, with me, it’s about what I want my life to reflect. What I think I reflect is love, kindness, consideration, my faith in my Savior. I want other’s to be deeply impacted by what they see and that makes them want to say “Hey, that’s the kind of person that I want as my friend” or “I want to be like that person right there.” I hope that my actions bring encouragement to others to show those same actions.
*Tell, me: what do you see when you look in the mirror?? Do you see the person that you want to be or do you see a major disappointment?? Do you see someone that you admire or someone that you have to hide in public?? This is where that second thing comes into play. If you remember your fairytales then you probably know what one I am talking about.I’m talking about the Evil Queen from Snow White and the lines “Magic Mirror on the wall, who’s the fairest of them all?” We all know the answer until Snow White comes of age. Then she goes through so much trouble to kill S.W. that she ends of dying herself. I often feel like I’m asking the mirror if I’m fair enough. When I look in the mirror I see a mixture of all of those things and I don’t want anyone to think that I have it all together. I can’t even look at myself in the mirror without thinking that there is something to improve. I also see someone that is beautiful and if I want to change something, it’ll be because I want to do it and not to make society’s idea of me, to be happy.
*I once listened to a preacher from Texas say that happiness is based on happenings. That was several years ago and I still believe that that is true. I’ve learned that I have to look on the whole of things and to remember that there is an end to the suffering you’re going through.

Well readers, that’s all that I have for you now and I hope that if you are going through something that you have someone who will pray for you and that is willing to listen to what you have to say. Have a fabulous day readers and find even the smallest joy in your day!!

Love💜
Wordie

Leave a Reply

