Enchanted (The Woodcutter Sisters Book 1) by Alethea Kontis

  It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.
     When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.
     The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past—and hers?

image

Greetings Fairytale Lovers,

    I’ve decided to continue my fairytale obsession lately with Enchanted by Alethea Kontis.  I’m trying to remember as I’m writing this if I have read anything else by this author and at the moment I can’t.  Though I will let ya’ll know later if I do remember.  Any-whoo!! I read this specific one a few years ago and I really enjoyed it!  It was well written and I have no complaints about it whatsoever.
    The story is based on two stories, maybe more I just can’t remember at the moment. One is the Frog Prince and the other Jack and the Bean Stalk. It centers around the life a family who’s last name is Woodcutter, I’m guessing because of the father’s and older son’s occupations as woodcutters.  Mostly, this is about the youngest of the children, the seventh of the seventh daughter, Sunday….yes she is named after the day of the week. There are many things about Sunday that are interesting one being that whatever words she writes in her special journal that hasn’t happened yet, will come true..with a cost!  There is other magic’s and secrets and mysteries that have Sunday confused and have her question her life.  One being that the enchanted frog she had befriended and kissed in thanks for a gift he gave her and she falls in love with him (or rather his personality), turns out to be the prince of her land that her father is angry at for “killing” the eldest son, Jack Jr, for an accident and never forgiving him because of it!!  All the Woodcutter’s have some type of magical ability and we learn what the basic one of each is in this first book.  It was written in third person omniscient, this is one of my favorite types of perspectives for a book.
     Like I wrote before, I had no problem with this book.  I am now reading the second book, Hero, while listening to the audio version of Scarlett (The Lunar Chronicles) by Melissa Meyer and it keeps things interesting!!  I hope you enjoy reading it……and I mean it people, I want to know what you thought!! I don’t get to debate books with my husband because he’s not a reader like myself.

Love 💜,
Wordie

Leave a Reply

