Monster (A Cassidy Edwards Novel) by Carmen Caine

Revenge. It’s all I’ve lived for. Revenge against those who stacked the cards against me from the start. But I’m changing the deck now. I’m getting even. Born to a vampire, I wasn’t supposed to survive–but I did. My name is Cassidy. Cassidy Edwards. And I’m the first of my kind. 
The Job 
Trapping a sixteenth-century Scottish Highlander of a vampire who just might be seduction itself. 
The Team 
A firedrake with an attitude, a werewolf with a problem, and an imp in dire need of rehab.
The Boss 
A dangerously powerful warlock as handsome as sin. 
My Problem
Bluffing my way into a job, my first mission into the Charmed world opens a Pandora’s box of betrayal and secrets … along with attractions of the most lethal kind.

Greetings dear readers!!

    I hope everyone has had a fantabulous day so far and if not…….well that sucks!  Today’s blog is a review of one of the by Carmen Caine.  I had read some of her previous books a few years ago and they were pretty good for the genre it was written. (Genre isn’t the right word that I need but I can’t think of anything else.)  It has hybrids, vampires, werewolves, magic and many other magical creatures and events.  There are secrets….betrayals…..attraction!!  Now, this is just the first book and I am about to read the second book this weekend since it just came out and I hate waiting if I don’t have to.  There is very little cursing, not really any, so this is a suitable book for older teens to read and parents not have to be worry about inappropriate content.
    The characters were great, if a little lacking of interaction with some of the mentioned “team mates”.  This book is written in first person, from the heroine’s point of view.  There were some editing issues that were a bit confusing, but if you’re a “skip” reader (someone who will read a few sentences of non-dialogue and then skip to the dialogue) you probably won’t notice.  I noticed only because my dad and husband sometimes have trouble with their texts (my husband with his spelling and my dad just doesn’t read his before sending them) so I have to go over them a few times so I can understand the basic meaning of the messages. The aforementioned teammates,the werewolf and firedrake, do come up during the fighting (against the enemy and verbal against each other during a meeting to plan) and to just introduce their character’s into the story,  but they held very little importance in this book. There was more mention of the warlock and Scottish vampire, being as they were enemies, and they had more interesting roles to play in the main character’s life anyway.
    I had basically no problems with this book, Carmen is a good author and she apparently has a good team behind her!!  I can’t wait to read the second book this weekend and I recommend this book to anyone who would read it.  Let me know what you thought and what books you’ve been reading!!

Love💜,
Wordie

image

Leave a Reply

